Sunday 25 March, 2018

Callow End have won the WFA Sunday Premier Cup for the first time in their history. After a goal less draw after ninety minutes against Kidderminster League opponents, Harriers Trust, they clinched the trophy with a 4-2 penalty shoot-out success, despite having Scott Finnegan sent off during a stormy second half. 

The final of this season’s McDonald’s Worcester & District Football League Katherine Rayer Cup will be between Northside and Fernhill Heath Athletic. Northside had a comfortable 3-1 win at Clifton Rovers with goals from Charlie Tomlinson, Sam Yapp and George Aston. Fernhill Heath drew 1-1 with Drakes Broughton Rangers, Sam Carey giving Athletic the lead, before a Ryan Sneddon own goal sent the game into extra –time. There was no further scoring and in a poor penalty shoot-out, Fernhill Heath went through 3-1. 

FC Korono and Lower Teme & Martley will contest the Southam Trophy final. A single strike from Ed Ruscoe gave Korono victory at Hornets whilst Lower Teme came from 2-1 down to win 3-2 at Worcester Athletic, Callum Morris, Sam Lucas and Brandon Phillips the Martley scorers. 

Malvern Vale reached the Kilbourne Kay cup final with a 5-2 extra-time victory at Worcester City Wanderers. Luke Bailey and Chris Aldous both bagged a brace for Vale who will meet either AFC Mazak or Pershore Town Eagles in the final. A stunning 25 yard drive from George Corbett with literally the last kick of the match, was enough for Mazak to secure their semi-final place at the expense of Droitwich Spa Eagles. 

In the Bernard Finnegan Cup a hat-trick from Brad Morton gave Express Falcons a 3-2 win over Masons to set up a semi-final tie with Drakes Broughton Rangers Reserves. 

Sebright Arms beat division 4 rivals Spa Rovers to reach the Phipps Cup final where they will play either Grosvenor Sports or Malvern Radar Youth. Glen Sitch and Gavin Barlow were on target for Sebright. A double from Darren Palmer helped Grosvenor to a 4-1 triumph at Brewers Saints in their quarter-final tie. 

In the Premier division, leaders Hallow won 5-0 at FC Malvern, Zaq Hussain and Kyle Belmonte both bagging a brace. Perrywood played a double header against Upton Snodsbury and were successful in both games. A single strike from James Baldwin won the first match, with Nick Pearce and Omar Elmougy on target as they completed a 2-1 success in the second encounter. 

David Cornes grabbed the only goal of the match as division one leaders beat The Bell. Meanwhile St Johns maintained their title challenge with a 5-2 victory against Hallow Village. Matt Turner, Tom Stone, Jordan Preece, Andy Richardson and Matt Vale were all on the score sheet for the Saints. 

Goals from Brent Barnett, Aaron Northall and Celio Dias gave Pershore Town Eagles a 3-1 win against division 2 promotion hopefuls Eaton. 

In division 3 Perdiswell Colts hammered GDL Athletic 7-1 with strikes from Rio Janic (2), Kieron Roberts, Aron Davis, Aaron Mason, Owen Lane and Keith Aingel. Nick Jones cracked a hat-trick for Powick who won 3-1 at Freemasons Arms. 

A nine goal thriller at Droitwich Spa Eagles Reserves saw visitors New Inn Sports (Malvern) triumph 5-4. Dave Perera scored twice for New Inn as did Gavin Wood for Eagles. Jordan Roan grabbed a 90th minute winner for New Inn. Shooting star of the day was Adam Rushton who netted four times in Malvern Radar Youth’s 6-1 success at Eaton Reserves. Elsewhere there were two goals each for Dylan Hart of Worcester Saints who won 3-1 at Drakes Broughton Rangers Reserves and Elliot Watts as leaders Colwall Wanderers defeated Lower Teme & Martley Reserves 3-1.

Forthcoming Events

See All

Latest Transfers

23 Mar 2019


23 Mar 2019


23 Mar 2019


See All